(updated 8/27/2022)

The ASTA Certificate Advancement Program (ASTACAP) is a comprehensive, non-competitive, series of exams for violin, viola, cello, bass and harp students that covers scales, sight-reading, etudes and solos; with 11 levels, Foundation through 10, for which students are given a certificate on passing each level. Students can participate in an exam to be awarded a grade or for comments only. Entrance may be at any level and skipping levels forwards or backwards is allowed. Levels may be repeated.

Teachers can submit materials for their students on-line to be reviewed by an accredited adjudicator.

ASTACAP Online open November 1–30, 2022

Download the documents below for more details.

  • general info on ASTACAP

  • flyer to distribute to your students

  • the evaluation forms adjudicators will be using -- one is a numerical grading and the other is a letter grading. In September 2020, the National office explained that both are approved and the adjudicators for the online exams usually use the letter grade version.

  • instructions to adjudicators

To find information on how to participate in the Certificate Advancement Program, go to the ASTA website and log on, then click on Teaching Resources, and then ASTACAP.

If you want to set up your own local ASTACAP event, contact MNSOTA's ASTACAP coordinator Faith Farr for help in registering your event with ASTA.